Mariposa County, CA Home of Yosemite

Go To Search
Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo)
About LAFCo

The Local Agency Formation Commission, also known as “LAFCo”, is a regulatory agency with county-wide jurisdiction, established by state law to discourage urban sprawl and encourage orderly and efficient provision of services, such as water, sewer, and fire protection.

The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 governs the operation of LAFCo.

Mariposa County LAFCo is an independent, state-mandated agency and is not a County department.

50 Years of LAFCOs; a Guide to California's Local Agency Formation Commissions

It's Time to Draw the Line; a Citizen's Guide to Local Agency Formation Commissions

Meeting Calendar, Agenda and Minutes

Mariposa LAFCo
Mariposa County has few independent special districts affected by LAFCo. The independent districts are J. C. Fremont Hospital, Lake Don Pedro Community Services District, Mariposa Public Utility District, and Yosemite Alpine Village Community Services District.

A number of the dependent sewer and water districts managed by the County of Mariposa Board of Supervisors are also subject to LAFCo.

Improvement districts of Countywide Service Area #1 and zones of benefit are not subject to LAFCo review.

French Italian Portuguese Spanish chinese German Japanese Korean 
PO Box 784 | 5100 Bullion St. | Mariposa, CA 95338